Certified Wireless Network Professional (CWNP)

1. Certified Wireless Technician Specialist (CWTS):

CWTS is an entry-level enterprise WLAN certification, and a recommended pre-requisite for the CWNA certification. The CWTS certification is the first high-stakes certification geared specifically towards both WLAN sales and support staff for the Enterprise WLAN industry. The certification supports professionals who must be familiar and confident with the terminology and basic functionality of enterprise 802.11 wireless networks. In this course, you will explore the fundamentals of wireless technology and configuring wireless solutions.


Individuals with this certification will be highly competent in WLAN fundamentals and terminology. The certification aids the professional’s ability to describe features and functions of wireless components, while providing the skills needed to install and configure wireless network hardware components. It makes sales and support personnel more independent from the SE, while allowing SE’s to support a wider group.


Basic knowledge of networking fundamentals.

2. Certified Wireless Network Administrator (CWNA):

The CWNA certification is a foundation level wireless LAN (Wi-Fi) certification for the CWNP Training Program. CWNA certification will get the IT professional started in Wireless career by ensuring that he/she has the skills to successfully survey, install and administer enterprise-class wireless LANs. CWNA is required for CWSP, CWAP, CWDP, and CWNE certifications.


Radio Frequency (RF) technologies
Antenna concepts
Wireless LAN hardware and software
Network design, installation, and management
Wireless standards and organizations
802.11 network architecture
Wireless LAN security Troubleshooting
Performing site surveys

3. Certified Wireless Security Professional (CWSP):

The CWSP is an advanced level certification that measures the ability to secure any wireless network. This certification prepares the professional with skills necessary to successfully secure wireless networks (Wi-Fi) from hackers. CWSP certification is an advanced level wireless LAN (Wi-Fi) certification for the CWNP Program.


CWNA certification is a prerequisite for a CWSP Training Boot Camp.


WLAN Discovery Techniques
Intrusion and Attack Techniques
802.11 Protocol Analysis
Wireless Intrusion Prevention Systems (WIPS) Implementation
Layer 2 and 3 VPNs used over 802.11 networks
Enterprise/SMB/SOHO/Public-Network Security design models
Managed Endpoint Security Systems802.11 Authentication and Key Management Protocols
Enterprise/SMB/SOHO/Public-Network Security Solution Implementation
Building Robust Security Networks from the ground up
Fast BSS Transition (aka. Fast/Secure Roaming) Techniques
Thorough coverage of all 802.1X/EAP types used in WLANs
Wireless LAN Management Systems (WNMS)
Authentication Infrastructure Design Models
Using Secure Applications
802.11 Design Architectures
Implementing a Thorough Wireless Security Policy

4. Certified Wireless Analysis Professional (CWAP)

CWAP certification equips the IT professional with changes in wireless networking technology. It is revised with a renewed focus to help qualified engineers troubleshoot and solve common real-world problems.”
Two exams are required for the CWAP certification:

Exam PW0-104 — CWNA Certification Exam
Exam PW0-270 — CWAP Certification Exam

5. Certified Wireless Network Professional (CWNP)

The Certified Wireless Network Administrator (CWNA) is a foundation level wireless certification for the Certified Wireless Network Professional (CWNP) program. The CWNP next offers three professional level certifications: Certified Wireless Security Professional (CWSP), Certified Wireless Analysis Professional (CWAP) and Certified Wireless Design Professional (CWDP).

CWNP offers 7 certifications focusing on wireless networking:

CWTS: Certified Wireless Technology Specialist
CWNA: Certified Wireless Network Administrator
CWDP: Certified Wireless Design Professional (available Q1 2011)
CWAP: Certified Wireless Analysis Professional (available Q4 2010)
CWSP: Certified Wireless Security Professional
CWNE: Certified Wireless Network Expert
CWNT: Certified Wireless Network Trainer

6. Certified Wireless Network Expert (CWNE)

The CWNE is the final exam in a four-level certification process. In addition to the wireless fundamentals, administration and security aspects certified by the preceding qualifications in the program, the CWNE adds network and protocol analysis skills. The last and most advanced certification is the CWNE, designating expert level knowledge in wireless networking.

CWNA: Certified Wireless Network Associate Certification (Exam PW0-104)
CWSP: Certified Wireless Security Professional Certification (Exam PW0-204)
CWAP: Certified Wireless Analysis Professional Certification (Exam PW0-250)
CWDP: Certified Wireless Design Professional Certification (Exam PW0-270)
After earning the above four certifications you need to complete and submit the new CWNE application before you are awarded the CWNE certification.
After completing your Administration exam (CWNA), you can move on to the Security (CWSP), Design (CWDP) and Troubleshooting (CWAP) components and you can take these three exams in the order that works for you, as these professional certifications are all on the same level.